Little Black Country Dictionary

Torrar a bit … (bye bye)

Am ya? ……. (Are you?)

It Tay arf  bostin ………  (It’s very good)

Goo an play up yer own end. ………   (Get lost!)

Owamya? …………  (How you doing)

E’s proper poorly aye he? ……………(He doesn’t look well)

Will yo stop Mitherin me …….. (Stop asking for things)

Who yo cum as? …….. (When someone is dressed up)

Yome Yampi yo am  ………….. ( Mad, in a nice way)

Put wud in the ‘ole ………. (shut the door)

Yo’ daft ha’p’orth  ……….(You are Silly)

Shift ya feet from under me …………(Your in my way) …….”or get from under me feet”

Its up the wooden hills for  ………….. (Your going to bed)

E day arf get a lamping, thought he were Ged …….. (Someone beat him up badly)

Yole get a bally-aik from atin them swaits  …………… (Don’t eat all the sweets)

I’ll gie yo’ a right bloody cok-aiver ………………………………….(I’m going slap you!)
(Or: Yo’ll ‘ave a bloody cog-winder in a minute.). (Or: Yome aiming for a lamping)

Well, e’s took ‘is eggs to a fine market, ay ‘e? ………(He didn’t do very well for himself did he?)

Stop your blarting or I’ll give yo sumut to blart abart ………. (Stop crying)

Stop yer ivverin’ an’ ovverin’ an’ get on wi’it. ……………(Just do it now!)

Well I’ll goo to the foot of arr stairs   ……. (I Didn’t expect that)

Guin round the Wrekin  ………  (Going the long way around)

Sitting there like a pair of Morkins  …… ?

Shall we deaf it aart?  …………( Let’s not bother with it.)

Well, This ‘ay gonna feed the babbie ………. You need to find a job

As big as a bonk’s oss he woz …….. (he was a huge man)

We had a bostin time day we? …….. (Wasn’t it a great time)

Yo look loik nobody owns ya ……..  (scruffy)

Yo cor goo arrt like that, yome riffy  …. (Go and have a wash)

He’s a bugger up the back   ………  (cheeky)   Why my Nan would say this is beyond me!

For the umpteenth time ……….  (Do  I have to  tell you again.)

Blinkin eck.  ………..   (An expression of surprise)

Stop your grizzling ………..   (Stop crying)

I’m wuss off now than i was befower …………(Less money than I expected)

Yole be the one wuss off if yo dow watch ya marrf  ….   (I’m bigger than you)

Yole come a purler if you dow get darn ……….. (Stop climbing)

Am yo kalied  ……..(are you drunk)

Butter wouldn’t melt in er mouth, an a brick wouldn’t choke er.. …. she’s a baddun

(She might look nice but I wouldn’t trust her.)

Yo would be good as a door but not as a winda ……. (Move out the way, I can’t see through you)

“Or” If yow wuz glass are cud see threw ya

Shut yer gob, there’s a buzz comin …….   (When someone is yarning)

They Couldn’t stop a pig in entry……….   (Someone with bow legs).

Stop moachin.  ……….   (Stop being nosy when looking in drawers etc.)

Bet her con sing,  ers got larks legs. ……..   (Someone with very thin legs)

Hers no farther thru than a tram ticket  ……..  ( she’s thin)

Ar Dow now if arm cummin or gooin ……. (all flustered)

Gor a ferce like a ha’penny hock  …….. (Not very good looking)

Too ot t ate ay it !  ……..   ( too hot to eat isn’t it ! )

He had honds like shovels. …… (Big hands)

Bin yo born in a barn? …………. (shut the door)

I bay cherpd …….  ( I’m not bothered)

No  thee cossent ……. (No you can’t)

6 o’clock and ne’er a pidgeon um …. My pigeons should be back by now.

In response to: Where you going Dad? ……. Off me yed “or”  Rarnd the bend “or” Sumwhere yo aye gooin

There are loads more … add them!

6 thoughts on “Little Black Country Dictionary

  1. It was a regular one in our house (we were all clumsy!). One I don’t think you have on the list, unless I missed it is:
    “It’s black over the back o’ Bill’s Mother’s”. Meaning it’s likely to pour down.

    • Yeah, I was sure the “It’s black over the back o’ Bill’s Mother’s” was there!
      Because it was the first time i had heard it.
      I think my Mom & dad spoke pretty posh compared to my mates parents 😀
      My Dad was from out of Town, farmers son? … and although my Mom was from friar Park, she didn’t speak like she was.

      But my Nan! She was the one that came out with some corkers.
      ya daft aputh/apuff? … Put Wood in hole, for shut the door and her most common saying is one I use all the time: Oooh hark at her, butter wouldn’t melt!

Leave a Reply

